Slackware on a Dell Inspiron

I finally got around to installing Slackware on my main laptop. I’ve run it on my netbook before, but I wasn’t very committed to the install, and ended up ditching it after a week or so. This time I’m making myself use it, because I really just want to learn more about Linux in general. I sort of threw myself in the deep end, but so far I haven’t broken anything.

I’m running 13.1 on a Dell Inspiron 6400. The laptop has an ATI card, which has given me some trouble with Linux in the past, but it seems like Slackware loaded the correct driver. Everything has worked great out of the box. The only issue I had was getting wireless to work on boot, but it’s pretty simple. All you have to do is uncomment the lines for wlan0 in /etc/rc.d/inet1.conf and then do a ./inet1 restart. After that you can configure wpa_supplicant to connect to encrypted APs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

